I just ran The Race for Life!

img_1363If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I am on a never-ending quest to lose weight. My first post on this subject was all the way back in June. I weighed a whopping 13 stone 6 lbs which quite honestly sickened me. I was a big, fat mess and had the fitness level of a 90-year-old obese woman.

I decided to change and I have, I properly started losing weight in March and since then have lost nearly 2 stone, I weigh 11 stone 8 lbs and just ran 5K in under 35 minutes and raised £185 for Cancer Research.

I am not a runner. Me and running do not mix. But Cancer Research is a charity that I think is close to many people’s hearts. I think everyone knows someone who has been affected by cancer and I wanted to make a positive change. Thousands of women take part in this brilliant event every year and I wanted to be one of them. So I signed up.

When I started this journey I had such terrible stamina and could barely run for 30 seconds without getting terrible pain in my calves and being completely out of breath. I started using the free “Couch to 5K” app on my phone, which is really great to get you started.

I’m not going to lie to you, I didn’t stick to their program I only did about 3 weeks worth and then made up my own. I found doing HIIT (High-Intensity Interval Training) was a img_1358-1great way to build my stamina. For instance:

  • Running for 1 minute brisk walking for 30 seconds and building it up gradually.
  • Sprinting for 30 seconds and standing still for 1 minute.
  • Star jumps for 1 minute and doing a strength exercise such as squats for 1 minute.
  • Marching in place for 1 minute then doing lunges for 1 minute.

Whatever your fitness level there is something that you can do for your ability.

So race day came along and I’d been training for about 5-6 weeks and I really didn’t feel ready. There were over 2,500 people there today which was incredible! The atmosphere was fantastic and everyone there was really friendly. There was a really fun group warm-up before the race began which broke the ice and eased us into it slightly.

We took our starting positions and off we went. It wasn’t easy I’m not going to lie. I did manage to run/jog the majority of the race, however, I did have to slow down to a brisk walk for a bit of a breather and drink of water. I managed to run the last kilometer of the race and seeing my Mum and Nan’s faces waiting for me on the last 100 metres gave me the strength to carry on running! img_1051-1

The feeling when I crossed the finish line was amazing. I felt so proud of myself considering I couldn’t even run up the stairs the start of the year. I managed to finish with a time of 34 minutes 48 seconds which I was incredibly happy with as the lady who came
first finished in 25 minutes.

Upon crossing the line we were all handed water, a medal, and a brioche which I thought was a really lovely touch.

The day truly was something special. I’m proud to say I’ve raised nearly £2oo for Cancer Research and I can’t wait to do it all again next year.

If you wish to donate to Cancer Research you can do so via my JustGiving page. I would really appreciate it if you did and you would be making a difference to millions of people’s lives.

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/harrietrebekahevans

img_1365

Leave a Reply

