It’s ok to have a bad day

I’m writing this ironically after writing a post on staying organised. I’ve stuck to my tips, tidied my room, wrote a list, taken a break, but with two weeks to go until my first exam I am absolutely terrified. But you know what? It’s ok. 

This feeling is natural. It’s something most of my friends sitting exams are also feeling. There’s so much pressure on us to do well, for me it’s getting the grades to get into my first choice University, for other people it can be making their families proud or getting a first in their dissertation, whatever it is we are under a lot of pressure as students.

It’s ok to feel like you’re drowning in a sea of essays and past papers. It’s ok to have a good cry. It’s ok to order a large pizza for yourself. It’s ok to have a bad day.

I’m not going to pretend that my life is perfect and that I’m totally confident I’ll ace my exams. Yes, I’ve done plenty of revision, but my memory is dreadful and remembering a neverending list of facts, quotations, historiography and analysis seems like an impossible task. Probably because it is. I started really revising in February, much earlier than I ever have done. Somedays I feel like I can ace my exams, when I get a mock back and get an A, other days, I struggle to remember what I had for lunch let alone why the Conservatives won the General Election in 1951.

Be stressed. But what you need to remember is to take a step back and breathe. At the end of the day, it’s only an exam, it doesn’t determine your self-worth or your ability. It’s ok to take a day off revision and go out with your friends and completely forget about the impending doom in two weeks time. You need to take time for yourself.

It’s fine to be terrified. It’s fine to comfort eat. It’s fine to get upset. However you deal with stress.

Just do your best and that’s all you can do.

Good luck and take care, remember it’s only an exam!

 

Leave a Reply

