Why does no one live in the moment? 

I think everyone from a certain generation, including myself, can say that we are guilty of this. We’re so obsessed with taking the perfect picture to post to Instagram or constantly refreshing our Facebook or Twitter, that we can sometimes lose ourselves and forget to just live in the moment and realise that there is a world outside our phones. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m guilty of recording my favourite song at a gig, or filling my camera roll with 50 identical selfies before a night out. Every day I sit on the bus on the way home from work, mindlessly scrolling through my social media feeds wasting time.

I don’t know why I do it ? Why am I prioritizing a virtual world over our physical one ?

I’m not the only one though. I can’t count the amount of gigs I’ve been to where people stood in front of me are recording the whole gig on the phone. Or going to the toilets in a club, only to be barged out of the way of the mirror so somebody can get the perfect selfie. Even when you’re out at a resturant, you see families sat heads down, eyes glued to their phones (I’m guilty of this too!)

Do we really need to rely on our phones this much ? The answer is most definetly no. I’m aiming to make a conscious effort to get off my phone, Ipad and laptop and embrace the world around me.

Instead of scrolling through my newsfeed on my day off I could take the dog for a walk, read a book, listen to music, do yoga, exercise, chat to my family, do some studying, write a new blog post. The list is really as long as you make it. There’s so much more to life than a screen.

Look up and look around, embrace the world we live in and enjoy life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

