Top 10 tracks for February

Here’s the second post in my new series of top ten tracks for each month! Hope you enjoy it and find some new or not so new tracks to listen to.

1. Rocky Took A Lover – Bell X1

 rocky

This song is a pretty chill track. I really like listening to this when I’m revising or just relaxing. Bell X1 have some really good songs, they’re definitely worth a listen.

 

2. Where Is My Mind? – Pixies

where is

Quite a grungy track, another one I like to listen to chill out to. This is a bit more rocky sounding than the first track. It’s a bit more raw and emotional sounding.

3. Sticks ‘n’ Stones – Jamie T

sticks

This is a real feel good song. I remember listening to this when I was younger and getting so pumped, it still has the same effect now I’m 18. I’m not ashamed to say I know all the words, a definite classic that needs to be kept alive.

4. Got Me So – XXXY

got me so

This tracks a bit different than the others. It’s more of an electronic, dance vibe. Something you’d listen to before a night out rather than just chilling out. Definitely, something that makes you want to get your groove on.

5. Feels Like We Only Go Backwards – Tame Impala

Feels_Like_We_Only_Go_Backwards

Tame Impala are one of my favourite bands at the moment. The trippy, chill sounds of their tracks make me feel like I’m lying in a field at a festival in the Summer with the sun shining on me and drink in hand. If you like a sort of trippy MGMT sound I think you’d really like this song.

6. 1901 – Phoenix

1901

I first heard this song on Friday Night Dinner, one of my favourite TV programs, one day it popped up as a recommended song it’s actually really good! Happy, upbeat and full of energy, a really cheerful track that’s a pleasure to listen to.

7. Regret – Everything Everything

Regret_single_cover

This song is so catchy, don’t be surprised if you can’t get it out of your head. The repetitive beat and backing vocals make this song really catchy, slightly different from their first hit “cough cough” but it’s still a really good track.

8. West Coast – Lana Del Rey

Lana del Rey West Coast

If you haven’t heard this yet where have you been? This song is so dreamy sounding and gorgeous, Lana’s voice just melts into the backing music, I think it’s near impossible not to love this song. The change in tempo and pace really separates itself from her other work.

9. Wildfire – SBTRKT (feat. Little Dragon)

sbtrkt-wildfire

A friend at college introduced me to this song a while ago, it’s been one of my favourites since. I saw SBTRKT at Reading in 2014 and the atmosphere was electric, especially when they played this. The vocals and electronic backing both merge together flawlessly. Whenever I listen to this I feel as if I’m in a trancelike state and transported back to Reading, I wish!

10. bodyache – Purity Ring

b2656bb778720b07dd3c1fa06d842166.608x608x1

Purity Ring is another of my favourite artists at the moment. Again this song is more of an electronic sound to it, but it’s also got a heavier element to it with the chorus which sets it apart from most music in this genre.

Leave a Reply

