Estee Lauder Doublewear Foundation: In depth review

I’ve been looking for my holy grail foundation. I’ve tried lots of high-end and drugstore foundations, however, I’ve never been able to find the one. I’ve only ever heard good things about the Estee Lauder Doublewear foundation, so I thought I’d give it a go.

The price of the foundation is £30, about the same price, if not cheaper, than other high-end brands that I’ve also tried. The foundation is said to have 16-hour staying power and medium to buildable coverage. They have a range of shades to suit all different skin tones too which are matched to your skin’s undertones.

I had a quick consultation with a lovely Estee Lauder lady in Boots, who colour matched me and showed me which shades were the closest match to my skin. I’m ghostly white, so I chose the shade 1C0 Shell. This is a perfect match to my skin tone.

I thought the best way to show you how this foundation wears, is to show how my skin looked throughout the day wearing the foundation.

9:30 am Getting ready for work

img_9615

Close up of my skin with just the foundation on. As you can see it’s not matte, however, the coverage is definitely medium/buildable as stated. This was with 1 layer applied with my fingers. You can also see how well it covers up any dark circles under my eyes, so if you’re in a rush you can skip concealer.

 

img_9619
Looking fabulous with half my makeup done.

 

This is how the foundation looks with a light layer of the Loreal Nude Magic BB pressed powder and 17 Miracle Matt oil free loose powder. I apply these two lightly with my Real techniques powder brush just to set my makeup for the day. After this, I applied 2 sprays of the Urban Decay setting spray just to make sure my makeup will last through my whole shift.

3:00 pm On my Break at work

img_9620

img_9626I took these photos under the incredibly harsh, white lights at work, which show all your imperfections. I’m 5 hours through my shift and my foundation still looks as good as it did in the morning. It’s not looking cakey, or sinking into any lines in my face. It’s also not patchy like the Chanel perfection velvet Lumiere foundation is. I love how this foundation is wearing so far!

7:00 pm Getting home

img_9635

 

img_9632

These photos are really similar. As you can see the foundation still hasn’t really budged! It still looks as good as it did on my break, which I think is really impressive after an 8-hour shift and a quick run to the bus stop after work. Although it’s becoming slightly patchy on my cheeks and nose, this isn’t anything a quick touch up couldn’t fix.

10:30 pm Getting ready for bed

img_9638

After wearing this foundation for about 13 hours, it’s time to take it off. I’m still really impressed with this foundation. It’s finally worn off on my nose and cheeks, leaving them quite patchy. However, the foundation lastest me through the whole of my shift and well into the evening looking pretty much flawless.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Really long wearing, even better when worn with powder and/or setting spray.
  • Great range of colours available for lots of different skin tones.
  • Lasts through a stressful 8-hour shift, longer than I do.
  • Doesn’t transfer to clothes.
  • Not cakey or oily, doesn’t settle into fine lines/wrinkles.
  • Great for covering dark circles under the eyes.
  • This will last you all night on a night out.
  • Buildable coverage easily covers redness and blemishes.
  • No need to use a primer.

Cons

  • £30 premium price tag out of budget for some.
  • Doesn’t have a pump dispenser, you pour it out which can waste some product and can be a bit messy.
  • It will take you at least 2 different cleansers to get it all off.

Summary

I really think that this foundation is as good as everyone says it is. I’ve never worn a foundation that has lasted so long without looking cakey, fading, oxidising or smudging off. The shade is absolutely perfect for my skin and blends fantastically with my natural skin tone.

I’m definitely going to be repurchasing this product and can’t see myself switching to a different foundation for a long time.

I hope this review showed you how well this foundation worked for me. If you have any more questions leave them below in the comments and I’ll get back to you asap!

 

Leave a Reply

