Best and worst eye make up removers

I hate taking my makeup off, especially eye makeup. As a wearer of waterproof mascara, I really struggle to find products that can actually take off my mascara.

I’ve been through lots of different brands over the past few months and have come across a few hits and misses.

Simple kind to eyes, eye makeup remover – £3.39 

26525-thickbox

I bought this on a whim because I was running low on eye makeup remover and thought I’d give this a go. As it’s a Simple product I was expecting this to be really gentle and refreshing. I couldn’t have been more wrong! This is a terrible product. The formula is somehow sticky, which leaves a horrible residue on your eyes and hands. This product didn’t even touch my mascara and left it almost intact, no matter how much I rubbed my eyes, it even struggled to remove my eyeliner. After using this my eyes felt really irritated and sore. I couldn’t even close my eyes because they were hurting so much, I had to go and bathe them. Considering I really don’t have sensitive skin in the slightest I found this really bizarre.

I really dislike this product and wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Water would be a better makeup remover!

0/10 

Nivea Daily essentials double effect eye makeup remover £1.94

Nivea-Eye-Make-Up-Remover

I think we’ve all seen the advert for this product on TV recently. Where a girl with incredible smoky eye makeup, effortlessly removes her makeup using this product. I wouldn’t say it’s that good, but this product does do the job.

The formula is sort of greasy, which isn’t something I want in a product. However, the makeup removing power is really good and took off my mascara with minimal rubbing. The price of this product is also really cheap which is great for student budgets.

If you don’t wear waterproof mascara I think this could eye makeup remover could be really great for you. Personally, though I wouldn’t re-purchase it.

6/10

No7 Beautiful skin eye makeup remover £8.50

06_EMUR_ALL_SKIN_TYPES_V1

This is the most expensive eye makeup remover I’ve tried but, every other month or so Boots hand out vouchers for £5 off No7 skincare and £3 off No7 makeup. So it was nearly half price.

One of the biggest problems I had with this product is that there is no dispenser. Instead, you pour the contents directly onto a cotton pad. This meant that I was wasting quite a lot of product as it saturated my cotton pad, it was also a bit messy.

The formula of the product was quite greasy/oily and made my eyes feel quite wet after use. It was fairly quick to take off my mascara, however, I did have to rub my eyes quite heavily to get all of the mascara off.

Overall this isn’t a bad product at all. However because I went through the product so quickly it meant I would be spending a lot of money on a product that is the same quality of the Nivea one.

6/10

Garnier: Micellar cleansing water £4.99

Garnier_Cleansing_Micellar_Lotion_400ml_1389086279

I saw Youtuber LeighannSays recommend this product a while back. She uses the same waterproof mascara as me (Maybelline’s The Rocket Volume.) When she said that this cleanser removed her eye makeup effortlessly I thought I’d have to give it a go.

This is a great cleanser for your skin, however, it just didn’t work for me on my eyes. It didn’t budge my mascara. However my foundation, powder, bronzer, highlight etc it’s fantastic.

I couldn’t recommend this enough for a cleanser however not for an eye makeup remover. But maybe it would work better with normal mascara.

2/10

Garnier: Simply essentials 2 in 1 make up remover £2.59

garnier 2 in 1

This eye makeup remover is one of the cheaper ones on this list, it’s also the best.

The cleanser is really soothing fresh feeling and not greasy at all like most of the other ones. It doesn’t sting or irritate my eyes whatsoever and takes off all of my eyes makeup including waterproof mascara. Another plus for this product is that it’s 2 in 1, meaning it can be used on your eyes and face. So it’s great if you’re on a lower/student budget.

I’ve already repurchased this product, it’s definitely my go-to eye makeup remover from now on.

9/10

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

