Best Pizza in Cornwall: La Bocca Pizza Kitchen

I’m currently on a family holiday in Cornwall, you can keep up to date with whatla-bocca-pizza-kitchen I’m doing on my daily What I did in Cornwall series. (Click here to view the first post.)

On the drive into Bude, I saw La Bocca Pizza Kitchen and pointed it out to my Dad, we decided to go there for dinner. The constant stream of people going in and out collecting takeaways undoubtedly attracted my attention, and we weren’t disappointed.The restaurant is really small inside, so if you were coming with a large group you might struggle to get a table to accommodate you all, especially without booking. The interior decor is really lovely, a very industrial and cosy style that really appeals to me.

When ordering drinks, we shared a bottle of the pinot grigio, which was a very light and refreshing wine, it complimented the rest of the meal very well.

We’d been out all day so decided to order some starters to share. We had the calamari with a panko crumb with lemon mayonnaise and garlic bread pizza between three of us. The portions were perhaps a bit stingy with the calamari, however, the quality of it was fantastic. The squid was cooked and seasoned perfectly and the crumb was very light and added an extra depth to the flavour of the calamari. The garlic bread was also very nice and light, perfect for sharing.

Of course, we ordered pizza for our main course. I ordered the Contadina pizza,12122953_1664638733773426_2335994959576054735_n which was the equivalent of a meat feast. Topped with mozzarella, tomato, chilli beef, hot sausage, chorizo, chicken, mixed peppers and jalepenõs, I asked for no jalepenõs because I’m not a fan of spice. My Dad went for the Inferno which was covered in salami, jalapenõs and spicy chilli oil, as he loves really spicy food. Finally, my Nan asked for a Margherita pizza with an extra topping of ham and the staff were more than happy do make this for her with no problems, which was a really nice touch. We also ordered a portion of seasoned fries to share as well.

The menu here is really great and caters for vegetarians and also has gluten free options.

When they arrived they all looked fantastic. I was really pleased they remembered to hold the jalepenõs as I’ve been to so many restaurants that would forget something like that. The pizzas were a really good size too and there was more than enough there. You could tell the ingredients were all a really high quality and
really fresh. The ingredients were perfectly balanced and there were plenty of toppings. The cheese oozed as I cut into my pizza, and the dough was really light, thin and spongy. The toppings were also
delicious and really complimented each other, it was delicious, the best pizza I’ve ever tasted. The fries were really nice and crispy and perfectly seasoned with rosemary sea salt, I’d definitely recommend these to share.11391505_1624702401100393_8618661423499570010_n

My Dad and Nan shared my high praise for our meals and we ended up trying a slice of each others.

Unfortunately, we couldn’t finish all of our pizzas because we were too full, but our waiter was more than happy to box the leftovers up for us to take away, so I didn’t get to try out the dessert menu.

This was definitely the best pizza I’ve ever had! The atmosphere was lovely despite it being a small restaurant. The staff were incredibly friendly and couldn’t do enough to help you. Most importantly the food was faultless and I would love to go back to La Bocca if I’m ever in Bude again and would recommend it to anyone!


(Pictures from La Bocca Pizza Kitchen’s Facebook page  https://www.facebook.com/laboccapizzakitchen/photos_stream )


One thought on “Best Pizza in Cornwall: La Bocca Pizza Kitchen

Leave a Reply

